Connect. Engage. Lead.

New Cycle of Texas CPM Certification Begins in Dallas/Fort Worth Area

January 17, 2017 9:14 AM | Sue Breland

28 Local Government Managers Attend the North Central Texas Council of Governments (NCTCOG) CPM Program in Arlington, Texas

By: Dr. Howard Balanoff, Professor & Director, William P. Hobby Center for Public Service, Texas State University

On January 12, 2017 Texas State University began a new cycle of courses in the Texas Certified Public Manager (CPM) Program. At the present time twenty eight local government managers and leaders are enrolled in the 2017 CPM Program offered at the North Central Texas Council of Governments in Arlington, Texas.

The Director of the Texas CPM Program in Arlington, Texas is David Tees. The following managers are enrolled in the CPM Program in Arlington:

Darwin Archer, City Manager, City of Cisco, Texas

Jeff Bell, Fire Chief, Fairview Fire Rescue, City of Fairview, Texas

Dennis Brown, Inspector, City of Kennedale, Texas

Alexander Busken, Management Analyst, City of Benbrook, Texas

Brett Clark, Finance Director, City of Burleson, Texas

Chrystal Davis, Human Resources Director, City of Carrolton, Texas

Keith Davis, Lieutenant, Police Department, City of Texarkana, Texas

Kyle Dooley, Public Works Director, City of Texarkana, Texas

Heath Haseloff, Project Engineer, Town of Highland Park, Texas

Kenneth Hedges, Assistant Fire Chief, City of Denton, Texas

Michelle Hicks, City Secretary, City of Lacy Lakeview, Texas

Trish Holley, Director of Administration, City of Burkburnett, Texas

Larry Hoover, Streets Superintendent, City of Kennedale, Texas

Esmeralda Hudson, City Secretary, City of Waco, Texas

Shirley Jaster, Assistant City Manager, City of Texarkana, Texas

Carrie Jones, Assistant to the City Manager, City of Denison, Texas

Mathew Jones, Director of Community Development, Town of Argyle, Texas

William Jordan, City Manager, City of Ferris, Texas

Albert Lawrence, Assistant City Manager, City of Red Oak, Texas

Gary Lester, Revenue Manager, City of Rowlett, Texas

Mark Morris, Human Resources Director, City of Balch Springs, Texas

Kelly Neal, Finance Director, Town of Prosper, Texas

Mike Shaffstall, City of Lake Dallas, Texas

Cheryl, Taylor, City Engineer, City of Colleyville, Texas

Gretchen Vasquez, Senior Engineer, City of Cleburne, Texas

Darwin Wade, Grants Coordinator, City of Arlington, Texas

Mike Whaley, City Manager, City of Burkburnett, Texas

Brett Williams, Executive Director of Community Services, City of Killeen, Texas

The Texas CPM Program is currently offered by 5 Texas Universities in 7 cities throughout the State of Texas. The Texas CPM Program is accredited by the National Certified Public Manager Consortium. CPM Programs are offered in 40 states in the United States. Since the CPM Program began in Texas in July 1995 over 1700 public sector and not for profit sector managers, leaders, supervisors etc. have graduated from the Program which is operated under the umbrella of Texas State University’s William P. Hobby Center for Public Service.

For additional information about the Texas CPM Program in Arlington, Texas please contact Dr. David Tees at or 817/683-8764. For information about the Texas CPM Program in general explore the CPM website at and/or contact Dr. Howard Balanoff at or 512/245-3453.


National Certified Public Manager® Consortium is a 501(c)6 non-profit organization.

P. O. Box 2133
Boise, ID 83701-2133
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software